Skip to content

A Little Bit About a Lot of Things

A lifestyle blog with a focus on my food adventures

IMG_6809Nothing says fall and October than…sausage? Whole Foods Market is showcasing their house made sausage for the month to celebrate Oktoberfest. Meet Phil, the Charlestown Whole Foods’ Sausage Meister. Phil grew up in Allston and started his career at the Allston Whole Foods. He quickly rose up the ranks and landed at the Charlestown location.

IMG_6815Phil was out on the floor demonstrating how to link the sausages and sampling the hot Italian and sweet Italian sausages to customers. Stop in on Tuesdays when the store does sampling, and not just the meat counter!

IMG_6811All the meat in the sausages comes from pigs and chickens raised to meet Global Animal Partnerships 5 Step Animal Welfare Rating Program.

IMG_6826Whole Foods carries a wide array of sausages, from chicken to pork, sweet Italian to chorizo. All the sausages are made in house and mixed with just the right blend of spices. They use an all natural casing for all the sausages. Whole Foods has a great recipe for Beer Poached Grilled Sausages.

Poaching sausages in beer before they hit the grill ensures that they’ll cook beautifully. Serve with potato salad, coleslaw and plenty of spicy brown mustard.

Ingredients

6 large chicken sausages

3 cups of beer

6 cloves of garlic, finely minced

1 onion, thinly sliced

1 tablespoon expeller-pressed canola oil

Method

Prick each sausage a half dozen times with a fork. Arrange sausages in a baking dish and cover with beer and garlic. Cover and refrigerate; marinate for about 1 hour. Arrange onion slices in a skillet just large enough to hold all sausages. Places sausages on top and ad leftover marinade to cover. Place skillet over medium heat and gradually bring liquid to a simmer. Poach sausages until partially cooked, about 4-5 minutes. Transfer sausages to a plate and pat dry if needed. Meanwhile, prepare the grill for medium high heat cooking. Lightly brush sausages on all sides with oil and arrange on the grill. Grill until crisp and nicely browned and sausages are cooked through, 4-6 minutes. Transfer sausages to a platter and let rest for 3 minutes. Serves as is or on toasted buns with condiments of your choice.

imag1445Recipe creation is not my forte. I like eating amazing food, I can’t say that I can cook it. The food I make is simple and tasty, but far from attractive. I made a pasta dish with the sweet Italian pork sausage. I took the sausage out of the casing and browned it in a skillet while the pasta was boiling away. I drained the pasta – and the sausage and added them together in the pasta pot. I threw in some Parmesan cheese and some butter. In a separate pan I heated up some olive oil and threw in the cherry tomatoes. I cooked them until I heard them pop (and helped the others along with my potato masher). I added the tomatoes into the pasta and sausage mix, and viola! A simple, easy pasta dish!

imag1452For my pizza I used the chorizo, Again, I took the sausage out of the casing and browned it up in a skillet. I pre-heated the oven up to 450 degrees. My pizza dough had been resting on the counter rising and it was ready to be stretched out. My shortcut is to go to your favorite pizza place and ask them if you can buy some dough. You can also buy it at the grocery store. Whole Foods makes delicious pizza and you can order take out from 10am – 9pm daily (every Tuesday you can $2 off a whole pizza!). I used my favorite tomato sauce – Rao’s as a base and covered it with mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. I add basil and oregano and a little bit of crushed red pepper flakes for that added heat. I pile the chorizo on top and cook for about 13-15 minutes. I like my pizzas a little more on the well done side. This is a simple recipe and it’s easy for kids to get involved!

imag1450And how do you not do a sausage, pepper and onion meal? I used the hot Italian chicken sausage and grilled it up in my grill pan with some thinly sliced onions for added flavor. In a separate pan I heated up some olive oil with red peppers and thinly sliced yellow onions – and hit that with a little salt and pepper. Once the sausage is done I put the sandwich together on a crusty baguette from Whole Foods. Feels like your at Fenway, but without the hefty price tag. Wouldn’t it be fun to make these for friends one night while you’re watching the game on tv?

So stop into Whole Foods in Charlestown today and say hello to Phil or one of the other sausage meisters!

And while you’re there, check out some of my favorite brands: Hint Water and Maple Water!

Whole Foods Market

51 Austin Street, Charlestown, MA

http://www.wholefoodsmarket.com/stores/charlestown

 https://www.facebook.com/WholeFoodsMarketCharlestown

https://twitter.com/@wfm_charlestown

Disclaimer: Whole Foods provided me with a sampling of complimentary sausages

